Blue Jays Extend Dustin McGowan

The team announced the deal, which will pay McGowan $1.5MM per season in 2013 and 2014 and includes a $4MM club option for 2015 (with a $500K buyout).

Dustin McGowan, who arrived at Spring Training without a guaranteed spot in the Blue Jays’ rotation, now has job security for at least two years. The oft-injured right-hander has agreed to terms with the Blue Jays on a two-year contract extension with an option.

McGowan is currently dealing with plantar fasciitis in his right foot.

“I went out, and in that second inning, I couldn’t push off of it,” McGowan said. “It was almost like picking my foot up and throwing, and I thought, ‘All right — I might as well stop right here before I do something to my arm.’

“I’m smart enough to know it’s going to change if I can’t push off, [because] I’m going to have to change everything in my delivery.”

Plantar fasciitis is the inflammation of the connective tissue that begins at the heel of the foot and extends toward the sole. It can be very painful and sometimes becomes a nagging problem that is difficult to treat.

Analysis: The twitter verse blew up with varied opinions, some strongly opposed.  My take is this is much ado about nothing at that minimal salary.  Let’s see if McGowan can regain past form and give the Jays a steady backend rotation option for the next two seasons.

Pretty sure he can put up the 0.8 WAR needed over the life of this contract to make it worthwhile for the Jays.

0 Responses to “Blue Jays Extend Dustin McGowan”



  1. Leave a Comment

Join the Discussion

AL Eastbound On Twitter!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.