Jose Bautista To Have Season Ending Surgery On Left Wrist

File this under ‘gimme a break’.

Toronto Blue Jays star slugger Jose Bautista will undergo season ending left wrist surgery.   In a season filled with terrible injuries and misfortune this might rank as the worst news of the season.  The wrist is always a tricky area of injury for a baseball player and with a swing that generates as much torque as Bautista’s one can only hope this doesn’t have a lasting negative affect on his production.

Bautista spoke to the media on Tuesday (via Sportsnet):

“We followed the course of action that was recommended at each time during the recovery after the original injury. The only way I could have played again this year without having surgery was to do what we did. I tried, there’s just too much instability in that tendon. It got to the point where risking injuring to the tendon was not worth it. That’s why we’re opting to do it now, that way I have plenty of time to be ready for spring training and the season.

We always used pain as an indicator of how far I should push it. What I have now is the same injury I had and the same damage to the anatomy of the area from the original injury, nothing got worse. Using pain as an indication is how far I knew to push it. It got to the point I felt so much instability in the tendon that I knew if I kept playing, or had to do something extraordinary, it was not going to be good for my tendon, I’d probably jeopardize it at that point. There’s no need to do that.”

Here is hoping Joey Bats comes back as strong as ever.

2 Responses to “Jose Bautista To Have Season Ending Surgery On Left Wrist”


  1. 1 voluspa baltic amber review October 8, 2015 at 4:42 pm

    What’s up it’s me, I am also visiting this web page
    on a regular basis, this website is in fact pleasant and the
    visitors are really sharing nice thoughts.


Join the Discussion

AL Eastbound On Twitter!

  • Ugh. My reaction every time I hear Paul Romanuk's voice before start of Leafs game. 17 hours ago
  • What a win for the Raptors. Down 15 against Chicago (who had beaten us 11 straight times) and Ibaka ejected from game. Overtime victory. 1 day ago
  • @DSzymborski especially baseball. Of all sports. 1 day ago
  • I'm old school. I love PJ Tucker. He doesn't sing and dance and hug opponents. He's Oakley like all business. #hustlehard 1 day ago
  • How can leagues honestly still justify blackouts in certain viewing regions? Begging me to stream for free. 1 day ago

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.