Good News, Zack Greinke Returns to National League

While it would have been nice to add an arm to our rotation like Zack Greinke reality is he was priced way out of our budget and probably wouldn’t have even considered signing with Toronto.  However as news broke today that he signed a six-year deal with the Los Angeles Dodgers worth $147MM I was happy to see the best available arm on the free agent market heading to the National League.

ESPN’s Jim Bowden has the contract breakdown (on Twitter). Greinke will receive a $12M signing bonus with a $17MM salary in 2013, $24MM in 2014, $23MM in 2015, $24MM in 2016, $23MM in 2017, and $24MM in 2018. Because he was traded at midseason, Greinke was not eligible to receive a qualifying offer and will not require draft pick compensation.
There was speculation that the Texas Rangers were in fact leading the Greinke sweepstakes and considering how strong the Rangers team is that would’ve been a major signing for a team Toronto will be competing with.
16 Responses to “Good News, Zack Greinke Returns to National League”


  1. 1 Clarissa August 2, 2013 at 9:04 pm

    Hi there! This is the fourth time visiting now and I personally just
    wanted to say I truley enjoy reading through your blog site.

    I decided to bookmark it at reddit.com with the title: Good News,
    Zack Greinke Returns to National League | AL Eastbound & Down
    and your Website address: http://aleastbound.com/2012/12/08/good-news-zack-greinke-returns-to-national-league/.
    I hope this is alright with you, I’m making an attempt to give your fantastic blog a bit more exposure. Be back soon.

  2. 2 Agueda July 10, 2013 at 11:33 pm

    Hey! I’m hoping you possibly can answer my question. I’m interested in a
    premium WP theme, but I have no idea how to know if the one
    I select is going to be appropriate for cellular devices.

    What are some recommendations you can give me in regards
    to what to look for with regards to colors and background and issues like that?
    I usually evaluate websites via my mobile, and I’m going to wager that many folks are like me in that way. Oops, i went a bit off topic, sorry. Appreciated the post thou.

  3. 3 Biker Babes July 10, 2013 at 9:36 am

    I am curious to find out what blog system you’re utilizing? I’m
    having some small security problems with my latest blog and I’d like to find something more safe. Do you have any recommendations?

  4. 4 tiny microbikini women May 28, 2013 at 10:57 am

    I’m curious to find out what blog platform you have been using? I’m experiencing some
    small security issues with my latest site and I’d like to find something more secure. Do you have any solutions?

  5. 5 pink taco May 26, 2013 at 3:39 pm

    I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?

    Plz reply as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. thanks a lot

  6. 6 Explicit Babe Pix May 26, 2013 at 3:56 am

    Hey there! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog.
    Is it very hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m
    thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Cheers

  7. 7 Roger May 25, 2013 at 9:25 pm

    Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The text in your post seem to be running off the screen
    in Opera. I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know.
    The design and style look great though! Hope you get the problem resolved
    soon. Kudos

  8. 8 Asiatic Ladies May 20, 2013 at 4:32 pm

    I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz respond as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. thanks

  9. 9 futurismnews.com May 20, 2013 at 12:39 pm

    Hey there just stumbled upon your website from Google after I entered in, “Good News, Zack Greinke Returns to National League | AL Eastbound & Down” or something similar (can’t quite remember exactly). Anyways, I’m grateful I
    found it because your content is exactly what I’m searching for (writing a college paper) and I hope you don’t mind if
    I collect some material from here and I will of course credit you as the source.

    Thanks for your time.

  10. 10 Klitschnasse Muschi Clips May 20, 2013 at 6:31 am

    Hi there! I’m getting ready to start a new site. I’m familiar using Dreamweaver, but that’s about it. Will that be enough, or must I also need to learn Html code as well as Javascript? I don’t want to make things too complicated for myself.
    So if all else stops, I might simply go with a design template and
    work from there. Any suggestion would be valued.

  11. 11 Onanism Experiences May 20, 2013 at 5:08 am

    I own a brand new fitness studio in the South. Believe
    it or not, I don’t possess a web site at this point. The issue is I’m not sure whether to settle for Blogger or WordPress.
    I know that I want more of a weblog feel than a site feel, if that
    tends to make any sense. I would like to be able to
    update my web site with weblog posts. Would you
    be capable of give a couple of advantages and disadvantages for going with either Blogger or WordPress?
    I seriously want to come to a selection relatively
    swiftly on this issue, cause does not make sense for me to have this business with out a webpage.
    It would be kind if you could give me some guidance.
    Please write to: kaylene-thornburg@gmx.net if you have some time left.
    Thanks, and btw great site, i need my blog to
    be like the one you have one day!

  12. 12 Rhea May 20, 2013 at 12:02 am

    Hey there! I hope you’ll be able to answer my question. I’m interested in
    a premium WP theme, but I have no idea how to know if the one I
    select will be works with cellular devices. What are some
    guidelines you can give me in regards to what to look for when
    it comes to colors and background and details like that?
    I usually evaluate websites via my smart phone, and I’m going to wager that many people are like me in that way. Oops, i went a bit off topic, sorry. Appreciated the article thou.

  13. 13 wine101nc.com May 19, 2013 at 10:57 am

    Hey this is somewhat of off topic but I was wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG
    editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding expertise so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  14. 14 Oriental Snatch May 19, 2013 at 6:03 am

    Superb blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers? I’m hoping to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost
    on everything. Would you advise starting with a free platform like WordPress
    or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there
    that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any ideas? Cheers!

  15. 15 Nipple Cream May 18, 2013 at 3:10 am

    Hello! This post could not be written any better! Reading through
    this post reminds me of my previous room mate!
    He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this post to him.

    Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

  16. 16 Stuart May 16, 2013 at 12:19 pm

    That is really interesting, You’re a very professional blogger. I have joined your feed and sit up for in the hunt for extra of your fantastic post. Additionally, I’ve shared your website in my social networks


Join the Discussion

AL Eastbound On Twitter!

  • There certainly are a lot of scouts on hand at Rogers Centre to see Cesar Valdez. Deal brewing? 3 hours ago
  • @Rockies Damn. #boss 10 hours ago
  • @GroverNorquist Yeah that's the real issue in America,TOO many people voting. Voter turnout is pathetic at best. 10 hours ago
  • Yadier Alvarez is still extremely raw. He is a year away from being a year away. 2 days ago
  • I would have bet money Bautista would produce a higher wRC+ than EE this season. I guess his best days really are far behind him now. 2 days ago

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.