You Say Bandwagon, I Say Passion

When the Blue Jays pulled off the type of offseason that normally transpires only on the Playstation the expectations can get ratcheted up.  When high expectations meet the slow start the resulting fan venom is usually pretty lethal.  When the Toronto Blue Jays were going through rough times and playing worse than my beer league softball team the fan base was obviously going to get upset.

Fire John Gibbons, fire Alex Anthopoulos, trade Brett Lawrie, RA Dickey sucks, Jose Reyes is injury prone, Josh Johnson has no heart.  Only the Red Wedding inspired more negative and hysterical reaction but when a team is performing so poorly aren’t the fans supposed to be upset?

I find Twitter to be a good ‘fan sentiment’ indicator and during the current winning streak it has been all abuzz with one side calling out the other.  The terms bandwagon jumpers, deserters and front-runners are being tossed around but isn’t that just the reality of sport?  It happens every year, in every sport and in every league since the advent of competition.

Now don’t get me wrong there are actual bandwagon jumpers out there.  Like that guy at the office who chirps how bad they are but thinks Josh Johnson is an oft-injured outfielder.  If you are reading this blog right now I am just going to have to assume you are a pretty huge baseball fan.  Seriously, how did you find us?

I harbour no ill will to anyone who thought Emilio Bonifacio should be given the boot when he was making more errors than the LAPD during the OJ Simpson investigation.  We aren’t the decision makers who must keep a level head and broad perspective about the current state of the team, we are fans.  When something doesn’t go as planned we look for answers and at times scapegoats.

That is simply human nature.

When you are actually at the stadium it is even worse.  For that one and only game you live and die by every play, good or bad.  You are put through an emotional workout for those three hours or so and if the team loses you feel like they might not ever win again.

Whether you have been negative, sceptical, positive or insanely suicidal there is no ‘right’ way to be a fan and no golden rules of what is acceptable and what isn’t.  As long as the passion is there and people actually care about the team then everything else is irrelevant.

The fickle nature of the mob will always be front and centre in the world of sports.  When I’m at a game and my team is losing or playing poorly I’m not going to pretend I am happy about it.  So go ahead and get upset when RA Dickey gives up 7 earned runs or J.P. Arencibia has another passed ball.  You aren’t jumping off the bandwagon you are a fan.

18 Responses to “You Say Bandwagon, I Say Passion”


  1. 1 tonewoods for guitars September 29, 2014 at 12:47 pm

    Wow, amazing blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you made blogging look easy. The overall look of
    your site is excellent, let alone the content!

  2. 2 ścianki wystawiennicze September 23, 2014 at 6:59 pm

    Hurrah! In the end I got a blog from where I be capable of actually take
    valuable facts regarding my study and knowledge.

  3. 3 garage door repair September 21, 2014 at 4:38 am

    Yes! Finally someone writes about multi code garage door opener Vero Beach FL.

  4. 4 iphone garage door opener August 25, 2014 at 6:30 am

    I couldn’t refrain from commenting. Perfectly written!

  5. 5 szafy przesuwne cennik June 5, 2014 at 5:16 am

    Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to assert that I get in fact enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

  6. 6 szafy wnękowe rzeszów June 3, 2014 at 4:26 am

    Definitely believe that which you said. Your
    favorite justification appeared to be on the web the simplest thing to
    be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get irked while people think about
    worries that they plainly don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side-effects ,
    people can take a signal. Will likely be back to get more.
    Thanks

  7. 7 adamski January 19, 2014 at 12:22 pm

    Normally I really don’t read content with blogs, however want to express that this kind of write-up extremely forced my family to take a look during and do it! Ones writing flavour may be amazed everyone. Thanks, incredibly great write-up.

  8. 8 my webpage August 5, 2013 at 7:59 pm

    You can never discover too much when it comes to golf. You’re always discovering more. I bet the pro’s still learn something everytime they go on the course. – Collison

  9. 9 caregiver.asia July 18, 2013 at 12:38 am

    Hello there, just became aware of your weblog via Google, and located that it’s really informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful if you happen to continue this in future. Many other folks will probably be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

  10. 10 Mazda RX7 for Sale July 14, 2013 at 12:41 pm

    Howdy I am so happy I found your blog, I really found you
    by mistake, while I was researching on Bing for something
    else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a remarkable post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to look over it all at the moment but I have saved it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the superb job.

  11. 11 Obagi Nu Derm Clear July 10, 2013 at 4:50 pm

    What i do not understood is in fact how you’re now not really a lot more well-appreciated than you might be now. You are very intelligent. You already know thus significantly in the case of this topic, made me personally imagine it from so many numerous angles. Its like women and men aren’t interested
    unless it’s one thing to do with Woman gaga! Your personal stuffs outstanding. Always care for it up!

  12. 12 http://arthra.pblogs.gr July 8, 2013 at 8:02 am

    Does your website have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but, I’d like to send you an
    email. I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it develop over time.

  13. 13 Wes Kepstro June 21, 2013 at 3:55 pm

    Because I’m a Jays’ fan, I’m antisocial. I take remotes forcibly and tell people to be quiet. If they don’t like it, they should find another room.

    Because I’m a Jays’ fan, I’m frustrated and disappointed when they lose and elated when they win. It gets worse than that, though. I’ll lose it or cheer loudly, not caring whether people hear me or not, and not caring what they think. (Maybe Aunt Bertha should have died on an off-day.) In other words, I’m an emotional wreck that some people believe should probably be medicated. Why? Because I’m a Jays’ fan.

    Because I’m a Jays’ fan, it ticks me off when multi-million dollar athletes make mistakes in a game they’ve been playing at a high level since they were little kids. Why? Because my boss pays me considerably less and is considerably less tolerant even though I’m considerably less experienced than the athletes are. After all, I haven’t been doing this since I was a little kid. But mostly it’s because I’m a Jays’ fan.

    Because I’m a Jays’ fan, I would sell something near and dear to me if I thought I could get season tickets in exchange. “Honey,” I ask my wife, “how much is your great-great-grandmother’s jewelry worth?” Why? Because I’m a Jays’ fan.

    Three errors? Four strikeouts? The per diem was a dollar short? One for your last 22? Your attitude got you benched? Buck up, boys. I had to work a 90-hour week for the extra dough to buy the tickets, snax, and refreshments because I’m a Jays’ fan.

    I’m a Red Sox hatin’, Yankee baitin’, Rays beratin’, Oriole gratin’ Blue Jays’ fan. It’s not only a pastime or a fun thing to do. It’s an integral part of who I am. Sometimes I’m rationale, sometimes I’m not. Why? Because I’m a Jays’ fan.

  14. 16 NB June 20, 2013 at 9:13 pm

    Amen brother.


  1. 1 Blue Jays Series Recap – Blue Jays Sweep Orioles | AL Eastbound & Down Trackback on June 24, 2013 at 7:56 pm
  2. 2 Blue Jays Series Recap – Jays Sweep Rockies | AL Eastbound & Down Trackback on June 20, 2013 at 9:08 pm

Join the Discussion

AL Eastbound On Twitter!

  • Brett Gardner must have a hard chin/head workout program. Most muscular head and jaw in sports! 3 days ago
  • RT @FitnessMatt1: I've read Unlimited Power, Awaken the Giant Within and Unshakeable by @TonyRobbins and they've had awesome effects on con… 1 week ago
  • RT @FitnessMatt1: The best advice I have received for improving overall gut health? Chew your food!! At least 30 times per bite. 1 week ago
  • Richard Lewis has not aged too well. 2 weeks ago
  • NFL is borderline unwatchable this week. Some awful network games. 2 weeks ago

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.