Riding with the Wind, ’14: Knuckling Under

Their names were Roger Wolff (34), Mickey Haefner (32), Dutch Leonard (36), and Johnny Niggeling (41), and they were a unique group.  Early on, Rick Ferrell (39) must have thought they were the four horsemen of the apocalypse, bringing all sorts of bad things with them.  Later they probably struck fear into their opponents, whose timing was probably messed up for days afterwards.

It was 1945 and the Second World War was in its death throes.  The war in Europe would end, followed, mercifully, by the war in the Pacific.  Those who survived to see the end of the war would return to a different world.  Until then, a different work force would continue to hold positions previously unavailable.  Women, young adults, older adults all found a place to contribute.

Baseball was little different from the rest of North American culture, as young, marginally-talented players mixed with older players hanging on for one last gasp at extending their careers.  They mixed with other players who were exempt from military service for one reason or another, allowing Major League Baseball to continue throughout the War.

Wolff, Haefner, Leonard, and Niggeling constituted four-fifths of the Washington Senators’ rotation.  They were all knuckleball pitchers.  Ferrell was their catcher.  They were unique—no team had ever tried it before, and none have dared to attempt it since.  They were also extremely effective, as the Senators went 87-67 that season.  Leonard (4.7), Wolff (4.5), Haefner (1.9), and Niggeling (1.8) combined for 12.9 fWAR, with Leonard and Wolff finishing 2nd and 4th in fWAR among AL pitchers that season.

Digging into the 6 Degrees of Separation files helps us to fast forward to 2014.  The Washington Senators became the Minnesota Twins 15 years after this remarkable season.  As the Twins, they shocked the baseball world by beating the St. Louis Cardinals in the 1987 World Series.  The Series MVP was Frank Viola.  Frank Viola pitched for the Toronto Blue Jays in 1996, going 1-3 before retiring.  Frank Viola’s son, Frank Viola III, was signed by the Blue Jays to a minor league deal recently.  Frank Viola III joins RA Dickey, Tomo Ohka, and Josh Banks as the 4th knuckle ball pitcher in the organization.

I doubt very much that the Jays are going to run V III, Ohka, and Banks out there with Dickey to duplicate the Senators’ feat of 70 seasons ago.  No, the Jays’ strategy is different.  Since RA Dickey is signed for the next couple of seasons and they have several catchers on the verge of contributing in the high minors and at the major league level, it’s just good organizational management to have those catchers exposed to knuckle balls somewhat regularly in preparation for a call-up.

Wouldn’t it be awesome if the Jays did it, though?  If the season goes south, then just one week, one turn through the rotation and they could accomplish something that would be truly amazing from an historical perspective.

Wes Kepstro

Props to Scott Ferguson for prompting the brain cramps that led to this piece (http://www.tsn.ca/mlb/story/?id=445797)

59 Responses to “Riding with the Wind, ’14: Knuckling Under”


  1. 1 sağlık turizmi March 7, 2015 at 9:07 am

    I blog often and I truly thank you for your information. The article has truly peaked my interest.
    I’m going to bookmark your site and keep checking
    for new details about once a week. I subscribed to your Feed as well.

  2. 2 panic away scam September 29, 2014 at 9:52 am

    Why visitors still use to read news papers when in this technological
    world the whole thing is presented on net?

  3. 3 Miranda September 28, 2014 at 6:49 am

    I couldn’t refrain from commenting. Perfectly written!

  4. 4 Auto Binary Signals Tips September 17, 2014 at 4:54 am

    Hey! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know
    how to make your site mobile friendly? My web site looks weird when viewing from my apple iphone.
    I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that might be able to fix this
    issue. If you have any suggestions, please share. Cheers!

  5. 5 mi40 training program September 17, 2014 at 4:19 am

    First of all I want to say awesome blog! I
    had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you don’t
    mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your mind prior
    to writing. I have had a hard time clearing my mind in getting my thoughts
    out there. I do enjoy writing but it just seems
    like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or tips?
    Kudos!

  6. 6 domain September 15, 2014 at 9:14 pm

    When someone writes an piece of writing he/she retains the plan of a user
    in his/her mind that how a user can be aware of it. Thus that’s
    why this post is great. Thanks!

  7. 7 http://www.guidehorse.com/csp/uprofile.php?UID=230540 September 3, 2014 at 11:48 pm

    I blog often and I truly thank you for your information. The article has truly peaked my interest.
    I’m going to bookmark your site and keep checking
    for new details about once a week. I subscribed to your Feed as well.

  8. 8 Carrie Enchant Him August 28, 2014 at 12:12 am

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well
    written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to
    read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post.
    I will certainly comeback.

  9. 9 Buy The Tao of Badass August 23, 2014 at 11:01 pm

    Hello mates, pleasant article and good arguments commented at this place, I am actually enjoying by
    these.

  10. 10 Adrianne August 21, 2014 at 9:48 pm

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a author for your
    blog. You have some really good articles and I believe I would be a good
    asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely
    love to write some content for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please shoot me an e-mail if interested. Thanks!

  11. 11 Geoffrey August 21, 2014 at 5:02 pm

    It’s great that you are getting thoughts from this paragraph as well as from our
    discussion made at this time.

  12. 12 Fat Burning Furnace August 21, 2014 at 12:52 pm

    Hi to every body, it’s my first visit of this webpage; this weblog contains amazing and really good stuff in favor of readers.

  13. 13 boost your bust secrets August 13, 2014 at 6:10 am

    At this time it appears like Movable Type is the best
    blogging platform available right now. (from what I’ve read) Is that what you
    are using on your blog?

  14. 14 carb backloading ebook August 13, 2014 at 4:05 am

    Hey there, I think your site might be having browser compatibility
    issues. When I look at your website in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it
    has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you
    a quick heads up! Other then that, superb blog!

  15. 15 Homer July 20, 2014 at 8:08 pm

    Fantastic blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers? I’m
    hoping to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress
    or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally overwhelmed ..
    Any ideas? Thanks a lot!

  16. 16 bleacherreport.com July 20, 2014 at 7:44 pm

    Hiya very nice website!! Guy .. Excellent ..
    Wonderful .. I’ll bookmark your web site and take the feeds additionally?

    I’m satisfied to find so many helpful information here in the
    publish, we need develop extra techniques in this regard, thanks
    for sharing. . . . . .

  17. 17 ecommerce theme July 10, 2014 at 11:56 pm

    Magento ecommerce development services incorporate product descriptions and prices in numerous currencies for different countries.
    Magento offers you full power over your ecommerce website.
    A full-featured shopping cart software, product catalog, and management system with extensive customization capabilities are
    incorporated into these ecommerce solutions.

  18. 18 Size0emilio.soup.io July 9, 2014 at 7:38 am

    It’s amazing to visit this web site and reading the views of all mates on the topic of this piece
    of writing, while I am also eager of getting experience.

  19. 19 Deanna July 9, 2014 at 5:10 am

    I am really loving the theme/design of your site.
    Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility issues?
    A number of my blog audience have complained about my blog not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari.
    Do you have any recommendations to help fix this issue?

  20. 20 Lydia July 9, 2014 at 4:24 am

    Genuinely when someone doesn’t understand then its up to other users that they will assist,
    so here it happens.

  21. 21 www.Lihebo.com July 9, 2014 at 3:08 am

    Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this, like you wrote
    the book in it or something. I think that you can do
    with a few pics to drive the message home a bit, but instead of that, this is excellent blog.
    A great read. I will certainly be back.

  22. 22 www.blurb.com July 8, 2014 at 4:59 pm

    I am extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself?
    Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see
    a nice blog like this one nowadays.

  23. 23 nick bastion enchant him June 29, 2014 at 5:37 am

    Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after going through a few of the articles I realized it’s new to me.

    Regardless, I’m certainly pleased I came across it and
    I’ll be book-marking it and checking back regularly!

  24. 24 weight loss plans June 17, 2014 at 8:25 am

    I pay a quick visit everyday some blogs and blogs to read
    articles, but this blog presents feature based
    posts.

  25. 25 Yetta June 17, 2014 at 8:24 am

    My partner and I stumbled over here coming from a different web address and thought I may as
    well check things out. I like what I see so i am just
    following you. Look forward to exploring your web page again.

  26. 26 the fat loss factor June 17, 2014 at 7:18 am

    Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was
    a amusement account it. Look advanced to far added agreeable from you!
    By the way, how could we communicate?

  27. 27 call center virtual June 12, 2014 at 6:28 am

    This new system gets rid of all the hassling steps needed for
    instillation. Yoga is also a great medicine to kill physical stress.

    The shared representatives are adept at handling calls for
    several accounts and clients.

  28. 28 new york seo June 6, 2014 at 2:57 am

    This is a topic that’s near to my heart… Cheers!
    Exactly where are your contact details though?

  29. 29 provillus helps from hair loss June 6, 2014 at 2:38 am

    We stumbled over here coming from a different website and thought I may as well check things out.
    I like what I see so i am just following you.
    Look forward to exploring your web page for a second time.

  30. 30 Zulma June 5, 2014 at 11:53 pm

    I simply couldn’t depart your site before suggesting that
    I actually loved the standard information a person supply to your
    visitors? Is gonna be back often to inspect new posts

  31. 31 new york seo expert June 3, 2014 at 9:40 am

    Hi there mates, its wonderful post regarding cultureand entirely defined, keep it up all the time.

  32. 32 Delila June 3, 2014 at 7:05 am

    Hi there! This post couldn’t be written any better!

    Looking through this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He always kept talking about this. I’ll forward this information to him.

    Pretty sure he’ll have a great read. Thank you for sharing!

  33. 33 http://todrub0.centerblog.net/1-10-stock-option-to-put-money-into-2013 June 2, 2014 at 5:30 pm

    Hello there! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask.

    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog post
    or vice-versa? My site addresses a lot of the same topics as yours and I feel we could greatly benefit
    from each other. If you happen to be interested feel free to shoot me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Great blog by the way!

  34. 34 Alan June 1, 2014 at 9:20 pm

    hey there and thank you for your info – I’ve certainly picked up something new from right here.
    I did however expertise some technical points using this web
    site, since I experienced to reload the web site many times previous to I could get it to load properly.
    I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that
    I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google
    and can damage your high-quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords.
    Well I am adding this RSS to my email and can look out for much more of your respective exciting content.
    Make sure you update this again soon.

  35. 35 teds woodworking Ideas May 31, 2014 at 5:06 pm

    Valuable information. Lucky me I found your web site
    by chance, and I am shocked why this twist of fate did not took place
    in advance! I bookmarked it.

  36. 36 cloud based unified communications May 30, 2014 at 3:49 pm

    One option that is becoming an alternative to the economic crisis for SMEs, is the unification of managed
    communication services. Determining goals for the future may be placed on hold while board members argue the best route to take.
    The NEC SV8100 has many feature-rich applications that increase employee collaboration and productivity.

  37. 37 http://www.instructables.com/id/EAUMNIQHV9HX82U May 27, 2014 at 2:32 am

    Amazing blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost
    on everything. Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m totally confused
    .. Any tips? Appreciate it!

  38. 38 Skye May 26, 2014 at 9:11 am

    WOW just what I was searching for. Came here by searching for
    ex-boyfriend

  39. 39 Mikel May 25, 2014 at 6:11 pm

    Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this
    board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out a lot.

    I hope to give something back and help others like
    you aided me.

  40. 40 sam89noel.wordpress.com May 25, 2014 at 4:32 pm

    If some one needs expert view about running a blog then i recommend him/her to pay a quick
    visit this website, Keep up the pleasant job.

  41. 41 www.unparchoir.com May 25, 2014 at 2:25 pm

    It’s genuinely very difficult in this active life to listen news on Television, thus I just use the web for that reason, and
    obtain the most up-to-date news.

  42. 42 virtual assistant services jobs May 24, 2014 at 3:46 am

    The sporting lifestyle is abound for the residents of Stone Creek
    Ranch with its’ proximity to exclusive South Florida golf course communities and country clubs such as St.
    By not providing a mobile platform – even a free mobile website, for that matter
    – companies can risk getting the ire of their loyal customers
    who feel shunned out, or they would be unable to get
    new clients. You could be tying up your money and limiting your potential investment
    – if you were to purchase an investment property for $100,000 with cash you would have a single property.

  43. 43 how to start blogging May 20, 2014 at 7:25 am

    You have the platform, now you are ready to take off the flight of blogging – Blog is a creative means through which
    you flow your ideas, so you need to be clear what you want others to know from you as a result you are able
    to bring in some innovative and impressive ideas which the world appreciates.
    So, you may have heard about a blog, but wondering what
    is a blog. Then by going deeper and deeper into detail, you can create more posts from the original post, for the more
    intermediate people in your niche.

  44. 44 Bianca May 17, 2014 at 2:03 pm

    s blog at or learn more about her writing and marketing
    services at. The title should contain at the maximum 2% keyword density.
    Loans in Long Beach are primarily designed to appeal to short-term borrowers, so
    they discourage long-term borrowers or non-payment.

  45. 45 Lenore May 13, 2014 at 12:30 am

    Your mode of describing the whole thing in this piece of writing is really nice, all can easily
    be aware of it, Thanks a lot.

  46. 46 Milagros May 8, 2014 at 8:44 am

    You have made some decent points there. I checked on the internet for more info about the issue and
    found most people will go along with your views on this website.

  47. 47 generator May 6, 2014 at 4:11 am

    Great web site you have got here.. It’s difficult to find high quality writing like yours nowadays.
    I seriously appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  48. 48 Shana May 6, 2014 at 2:54 am

    Hi! Do you use Twitter? I’d ljke to follow you if that would be
    ok. I’m absolutely enjoying your blog and look forward
    to new posts.

  49. 49 snow blower reviews May 4, 2014 at 11:34 pm

    Greetings! This is my first comment here so I just wanted
    to give a quick shout out and tell you I truly enjoy reading your blog posts.

    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same topics?
    Thank you so much!

  50. 50 Penteados Para Casamento Cabelo Solto May 1, 2014 at 6:04 am

    There is definately a great deal to learn about this topic.
    I love all the points you’ve made.

  51. 51 cheap term life insurance no medical exam April 30, 2014 at 6:05 pm

    Hi there, just became alert to your weblog thru Google, and
    found that it’s truly informative. Iཿm gonna be careful for brussels.
    I will be grateful if you continue this in future.
    Many other people will likely be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  52. 52 table saw reviews April 29, 2014 at 2:21 am

    Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular article!
    It’s the little changes that will make the greatest changes.
    Thanks a lot for sharing!

  53. 53 http://Barbanadonisgoldenratio.com April 25, 2014 at 4:10 am

    Whats up are using WordPress for your site platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get startted and set up my own.
    Do you need any codingg knowledge to mke your own blog?
    Any help ould be greatly appreciated!

  54. 54 rent construction dumpsters April 17, 2014 at 1:40 pm

    Simply want tto say your article is as astonishing.
    The clarity in your post is simply great and i can assume you’re an
    expert on this subject. Fine with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed
    to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million
    and please continue the gratifying work.

  55. 55 translate google apis April 11, 2014 at 8:38 pm

    Hello, i think that i saw you visited my weblog so
    i came to “return the favor”.I’m attempting to find things to improve my website!I suppose its ok to use some of your
    ideas!!

  56. 56 http://webuzohosting.com/ March 20, 2014 at 12:52 am

    Nice blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it
    from somewhere? A theme like yours with a few simple tweeks would
    really make my blog stand out. Please let me know where you got your design.
    Kudos

  57. 57 xcamsites.com March 19, 2014 at 8:08 am

    Having read this I believed it was very enlightening.
    I appreciate you spending some time and effort to put this content together.

    I once again find myself spending way too much time both reading and posting comments.
    But so what, it was still worth it!

  58. 58 Now A Smart Fan March 11, 2014 at 11:34 am

    Can you imagine? I bet they didn’t have a JPA behind the plate for that season!


Join the Discussion

AL Eastbound On Twitter!

  • Ugh. My reaction every time I hear Paul Romanuk's voice before start of Leafs game. 17 hours ago
  • What a win for the Raptors. Down 15 against Chicago (who had beaten us 11 straight times) and Ibaka ejected from game. Overtime victory. 1 day ago
  • @DSzymborski especially baseball. Of all sports. 1 day ago
  • I'm old school. I love PJ Tucker. He doesn't sing and dance and hug opponents. He's Oakley like all business. #hustlehard 1 day ago
  • How can leagues honestly still justify blackouts in certain viewing regions? Begging me to stream for free. 1 day ago

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.