Blue Jays Hire John Gibbons as ‘New’ Manager

In a week filled with surprises, Alex Anthopoulos has added one more: former Blue Jays manager John Gibbons has been hired as the new Blue Jays manager.  As Steve Adams of mlbtraderumors.com reported:

Gibbons served as the Blue Jays manager from 2004-08, leading the team to an even 305 wins and 305 losses, including a second-place finish in the AL East back in 2006. He was replaced by Cito Gaston in 2008, and has since been a bench coach for the Royals and managed for the Padres’ Double-A affiliate.

Gibbons came under heavy scrutiny during his first tenure as the Blue Jays manager, following confrontations with Dave Bush, Shea Hillenbrand and Ted Lilly. However, as Elliott notes, he has a long history with Blue Jays general manager Alex Anthopoulos.

Other candidates for the Blue Jays’ managerial opening had included Don Wakamatsu, Manny Acta and Jim Tracy. According to Elliott, the team also approached future Hall of Famer Bobby Cox, but Cox elected to remain retired.

I think it’s safe to say that when AA is planning to make a move it’s very difficult, no, close to impossible, to predict.  Even as I speculated about a mystery candidate a few days ago, I didn’t anticipate anything like this.

As usual we’ll follow up with any relevant details, but picture me smiling as I pass this info along to you.

Wes Kepstro

5 Responses to “Blue Jays Hire John Gibbons as ‘New’ Manager”


  1. 1 gold ira investing July 2, 2013 at 9:33 pm

    hi!,I like your writing so much! percentage we keep in touch extra approximately your article
    on AOL? I require an expert in this space to unravel my problem.
    May be that’s you! Looking forward to see you.

  2. 2 volcano marijuana smoker May 2, 2013 at 5:20 am

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to
    say that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and
    I hope you write again very soon!

  3. 3 Idiot Fan November 20, 2012 at 9:43 am

    This is ok, couldn’t be that bad if he lasted four years in the AL East (when BoSox/Yanks were forces) and had a .500 record.

    • 4 Wes Kepstro November 20, 2012 at 10:16 am

      It’s an eye-brow-raiser in well-established Alex Anthopoulos style, but I think this is a good move. Gibbons is a no-nonsense manager who is fundamentally sound and understands the game well. When the Jays gave him on-field talent during his previous tenure, he produced.

      I like his fire. I don’t know how many times a questionable call was made against the Jays during the last couple of seasons. When the camera panned to Farrell, I was yelling for him to get out there and defend his player/team. More often than not, he did nothing. I think that can take the wind out of the team’s sails.

      The confrontations with Lilly, Bush, and Hillenbrand were with individuals who either weren’t playing to expectations or who were challenging his authority. He regrets the way he handled it, but I don’t expect him to take any, um, poop, from anyone at anytime. That said, I’m not very concerned about it. Watching the press conference, he’s mellowed in the way he handles things like that without losing his drive to excel.

      • 5 @ALEastbound November 20, 2012 at 7:23 pm

        Wait, does this mean Ted Lilly isn’t going to sign with us? Damnit!

        In all seriousness I love this hire. I agree with that was stated above, a .500 manager in the toughest AL East when Yanks/Sox were winning 95+. I like his fire also.


Join the Discussion




Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.